[Ruth Review] Kanye West – Yeezus

20130615-231356.jpg

Kanye is an artist. He is not a rapper, he is an artist. I have to start this review off by saying that because Kanye West’s lastest album proves this very point.

I loved Kanye West back when I first heard “Through the Wire” back in 2003. I bought and loved every album (minus “Graduation”) that Kanye has put out since. So when his 6th studio effort Yeezus was released (or should I say leaked) I was the happiest kid in the candy store.

I pressed play. On Sight, the album’s first track starts, with hard hitting banging electronica, and then BAM! Kanye’s distinctive voice saying,

“Yeezy season approaching, fuk whatever yall been hearing…

and I do just that.

Yeezus makes you forget what you’ve been hearing. You forget what you’re used to. You know you’re listening to Kanye. And you can hear the old Kanye on songs like Bound, Hold my liquor, and Blood on the leaves but Kanye is different this time around. He’s an artist. He isn’t making music for you and I. These songs are his. They stretch outside of every stereotype you would put on a typical HipHop/Rap album. Just listen to Black Skinhead, everything about this song is different. From Kanye screaming at the end of each bar on the chorus, to the different rhythms he raps during the verses, all the way to him simply yelling “God” at the very end, repetitively as the beat rides out.

Every song after that feels just the same different. Which brings me back to what I said about Kanye being an artist. These songs are all formed so… Statically. I can’t think of any other way to describe it. It felt as if Mr. West just added to each song whatever he felt went with the feeling he was trying to portray. I have examples. Listen to “I Am A God” near the end there is a segment of just his hard breathing and heartwrenching screams. You’ll be on one vibe during a song and it will take a sharp turn to the left and take you somewhere completely different. New Slaves starts by him yelling about how

all you blacks all want the same things… There are leaders, and they’re followers. But I’d rather be a dick than a swallower.

(Which is a very true statement) That song begins so sharply and towards the end, Kanye switches the whole sound to a rnb old school sample.

I see West’s Yeezus as an art exhibit. Each song a new art peice that needs to be viewed as a stand alone peice with its own individual feel/vibe/look/sound/message. I was going to paint you a picture of each song, but much like art, Kanye’s album is left up to the interpretation of the person listening to it.

Much like a lot of the music I listen to, I already know this album is NOT for everyone. I know a lot of people are going to say it sucks, or they can’t get jiggy with it. I’m sure people will blame Kim Kardashian. Or say Kanye is just weird. BUT I know there will be a certain sect of people that will love Yeezus. They will see it how it was intended. Kanye giving us every ounce of innovation, provacativeness, ingenuity that his fat cheeked, angry faced, body can muster.

I love this album. Mostly because it is so different. I haven’t heard anything like it before. I’ve heard peices. But never put together this way. Layered so many ways. Kudos to the multiple producers Kanye used on this album, and at times on the same song. For instance, track 3 is produced by Daft Punk, Hudson Mohawke, Kanye West, Travis Scott, and Rick Rubin! And you can hear each seperate influence when you listen. How awesome is that? You get just about every sound u can think of. Production by those I mentioned earlier as well as Young Chop, No ID, The Heatmakerz, and more. The songs are all different, but they all ride if you can appreciate them. One of my favorites Guilt Trip is one of those close your eyes and ride songs. Just gets into your blood and you can feel it through your veins with the hypnotic chorus in addition to Kid Cudi’s vocals. The instrumental at the end made me swoon. Blame the violin. You should see the dutty wine I hit during I’m in it. Aye o!

Just to be completely honest and transparent, i don’t like Send it Up. I skip that track everytime I hear it. La loo. #suksauce

Yeezus is hot. But many won’t realize that for a long time. Many people just won’t like it. and that’s okay. But for those who listen and get it, Civil Rights fist in the air to you. Let me quickly stamp this #RuthAshleyApproved

Album standouts:
Hold My Liquor
I’m In It
Guilt Trip
Blood on the Leaves

20130615-231428.jpg

20130615-231435.jpg

This entry was posted in Ruth Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [Ruth Review] Kanye West – Yeezus

  1. kswiss96 says:

    I totally feel the same way about Kanye. He’s not a rapper, but an artist. He pays equal attention to lyrics, vocals, and beats and never releases or creates anything half-heartedly because he wants the audience to actually feel what he’s saying. Love him. This was a great review!

    And “Hold My Liquor” is AMAZING.

  2. kswiss96 says:

    Reblogged this on Wreck This. and commented:
    She took the words straight from my mouth…

  3. Emerald says:

    The graduation album made me a fan for life!! I brought every album since with exception to the Throne album

  4. I’m going cd shopping next week. lol I’ve heard so many mixed reviews that I have to see for myself what the fuss is about.

Leave a Reply

